Changing Bags and Changing Rags.

When I was pregnant with Oscar I didn’t actually by a changing bag… I didn’t think I needed one (sounds stupid I know) but here are 2 (what I used to think were good) reasons as to why I didn’t:

1) I got a free changing bag from Boots Parenting Club

2) I got one with my Trenton Travel system

See, two perfectly good reasons why I didn’t bother or think I needed to get a changing bag.

However, Oscer is now 4 1/2 months old and I am sick to death of these too smalll, very badly designed changing bags.

Lets us start with the Trenton mothercare changing bag.

It is literally just a sack. you can fit things in it… but once you do they everything will be lost until you empty the damn thing! You can’t order anything in there because of the shape, it’s literally a giant U shape. so all the creams fall to bottom, the nappies get squished into an imcomprehensible shape which you then need an iron to get back into a nappy shape! And there is only one teeny weeny itsy bitsy pocket which just about fits your lady things in… And to top it all off there is no zip or no velcro so the damn thinf doesnt even close, the lightest bit of wind and the thing comes open ready for a passing theif to steal all your nappies.

Now the Boots parenting club bag is Much better then this. Is has a nice external side pocket with thermal lining which fits almost any sized bottle! it also has an external back pocket which is uselful and inside there are a further two pockets. However, all round it is too small, the actual bag barely fits everything in and by the time everything has been squeezed in it is, the thing doesn’t close.

So almost 5 months on I have thrown down the rag (or cloth) and bought myself a changing bag. And my god I love it!

Its the Izabel summer infant changing bag, bought from www.mothercare.com for £27.00 (though I have just found it in www.boots.com on offer for £21) It has a lovely design on it and doesnt really look like a change bag so even when I no longer need it it will be usable as just a normal bag! it has 2 outer bottle compartments and 2 inner ones, 2 outer pockets and 2 inner ones and the space inside is very large! I’ve managed to get everythiong in and still have plenty of room to spare! It is by far one of the best buys I have recently made. And worth every penny.

Leave a Reply

